Donate Online Now

2014 - 2015 High School Essay Writing Contest

This essay contest is now closed. Thank you for your participation - check back next year for another contest.

We are pleased to announce the topic for the WDSE•WRPT High School Essay contest for school year 2014-15. The contest is only for students grades 9-12 residing in the viewing area of WDSE/WRPT. Students have the opportunity to submit an essay of up to 500 words on the designated topic:

“Describe an accomplishment or event, formal or informal, that marked your transition from childhood to young adulthood within your culture, community, or family.”

This topic is also one of the five selected for the common college application essay topics for 2014-2015. Seniors applying to colleges where one of the common essay topics is required could use the essay for their applications. This essay would also work when applications require an open topic essay.

The deadline for essay submission is December 5, 2014. The essays may be mailed to the station at WDSE•WRPT 632 Niagara Court, Duluth, MN 55811 or submitted electronically at the link above. Students must include a submission form with their mailed or electronically submitted essays. These forms are also available at the website.

Prize Levels

We encourage English and composition teachers to make this an assignment for all grade 9-12 students to give everyone a chance to win one of the scholarship prizes:

  • First Place: $1,000
  • Second Place: $500
  • Third Place: $250
  • Honorable Mention: $100 each (4 available--1 each per grade level)

A panel of area English teachers and college professors will read and judge the essays with the winners to be announced in February. A recognition ceremony will be held on April 19, 2015, in Duluth, to honor the top three winners and four honorable mention recipients and to award the scholarships.

If you have questions about the contest, please contact Sheryl Jensen at 218-525-4230 or at womantoday [at] charter [dot] net. We are very pleased to offer this special contest again this year for high school students in our viewing area. We appreciate the help of many area sponsors for providing the prize monies and funding the awards ceremony.

The 2013-14 Scholarship Winners

The 2013-14 scholarship winners were: Brian Steven Meyer, First Place, Ashland HS; Joel Gustafson, Second Place, Hermantown HS; Weiting Sun, Third Place, Marshall HS; Mariah Parker, Honorable Mention, Barnum HS; and John Martinson, Honorable Mention, Eveleth-Gilbert HS.